KT Chapter 249

Happy Wednesday!

Here’s the chapter, enjoy.


We’ve returned, so we’ll jump straight to production work. Though I said that, the only thing I did was process the trees.

I also wanted to go dig for ores to use for smithing, but we could just buy them, so I put that off for later. In addition, if I went, it would not be efficient if I didn’t take the adventurer group with me.

Right now, we needed to use them to make the additions to the harbor city orphanage, and we wouldn’t be inconvenienced no matter how much lumber and firewood we had, so I wanted to prepare a large amount here.

(Bammmmmmm)

(Clank, clank, clank)

(Scratch, scratch, scratch

「This is new, I’ll put it here!」

「Ok! Wha, isn’t this too much!?」

As I was working on processing the lumber, the adventurer group brought more trees. They brought them, but the amount just felt like a little too much.

I asked the adventurer group to cut down a few trees during their exploration of the forest. Cutting down too much in the same place was not good for the environment, so in order to keep a distance between each location, I asked them for just a few of them, but….

「No, Queen was excited, so the trees in the densely packed areas were cut down.」

I didn’t know why Queen was in such high spirits, but when I heard their explanation, I understood. She was also like that when we hunted the Treants previously, but many animals and monsters gather in response to the sound of trees being cut down in the forest. Normally, you would do it in a way that they wouldn’t come, but it seems that Queen took advantage of that and called the prey over and continued fighting.

Just in case, they tried not to cut down too many in each place, but they cut and fought, ran and moved, then cut again, repeating endlessly. Fortunately, what had appeared were boars, goblins, and a lot of ants, so although there were a lot of them, they weren’t strong, allowing them to come back uninjured.

「Then, why don’t we help too.」

「Since this is training too.」

After piling up the trees into a mountain, the adventurer group helped with the processing. Although there was a blessing when you raised your level to level 10, muscle training was always useful. If you trained, you would naturally retain them, so manual labor was also an adventurer’s job. Rather than that, it’s actually better for children to help out with various things and train their bodies.

Even now, there were few children who had acquired magic, so I dried the trees one after another. The adventurer group did the physical work, lining them up, cutting off the branches, and peeling off the bark. After they cut them, they sorted them out as well, so they were a big help.

「Next is over there.」

「Un….」

「Yes nya.」

「I’ll do my best nya.」

「「「Woof!」」」

Here, my younger sister and the others played an active part in this as well. With my younger sister taking the lead, Sakuya-chan, the cat sisters, along with the kolbold children collected the leaves. They gathered the leaves that were basically dried, and since the trees that the adventurer group brought back were of various types, there were also different kinds of leaves, so I asked them to collect the leaves that weren’t dried as well. 

Among them, there were large leaves and soft leaves, so when I used『Appraisal』, I was a little surprised to find out that there were edible leaves as well. We stuffed the soft leaves into a bag and after trying them out as pillows and cushions, they were unexpectedly popular, so currently, there was a waiting list.

However, I’m thankful that my younger sister and the others were doing their best, but I was a little troubled that they collected too many leaves. We were able to come up with using the new leaves as cushions, but I could basically only think of using them as a source for fire or fertilizer.

However, I’m thankful that they did their best, so why don’t I try making roasted sweet potatoes or something? There was no aluminum foil nor newspapers, so I don’t know if it will turn out well….

Roasting them on hot stones was another way, but those stones, were they special stones?

Previous | TOC | Next

4 thoughts on “KT Chapter 249

Leave a comment