Chapter 20-The fierce fight with my family

Happy Monday!

Here’s the chapter, enjoy. 


As the fire cards were drying, I made the stamp to use on the other cards. 

There were four types of pictures for each type of card. 

The fire card had a picture of a red flame burning. 

The water card had a picture of a blue drop of water.

The wind card had a picture of a green gentle breeze. 

The thunder card had a picture of a yellow lightning bolt. 

I had planned on having earth instead of thunder, but I did not have brown ink. Rather than have earth be yellow, I did it like this. 

And there were white and black star cards. 

Red was hearts, yellow was diamond, blue was spade, and green was clubs. And, the white and black star cards were the colored Joker and the black and white Joker respectively. 

That’s right, they’re playing cards. 

Since they were made with stamps, they were not made into Jacks, Queens, and Kings. That was the same for the Jokers. 

I wanted to make them the same, but even though I wanted it, I decided that with my skills, I wouldn’t be able to make the difficult molds. 

When I explained it to Cynthia, she tilted her head in confusion. 

「The idea of cards being toys is surprising, but do these numbers have some kind of meaning?」

「There are no card games?」

「Cards are either weapons or consumable magic tools, you know?」

「Aah, I see.」

Maybe they were just weapons belonging to that of rogues, which was an occupation derived from a thief, or magic cards that were made by alchemists. 

If only nobles and some renowned knights and adventurers had occupations, then that’s sufficient enough to consider. 

「In any case, I’ll make it. Let’s play together?」

「Yes, of course.」

Cynthia was the one taking care of me. She wouldn’t be able to resist my “let’s play” attack. 

「Later, we’ll make the numbers too.」

「Are the numbers stamped as well? Is it alright if the left and right are reversed.」

「Now that you mention it.」

After that, while waiting for the cards to dry, we made the stamps.

For some reason, Cynthia became serious and I made various requests to adjust the sizing and location of the numbers.

The same number was on the upper left and lower right so that you could read it even if it was upside down. Of course, they were the same color as the mark of their respective elements.

I left the job of pressing the stamps to Cynthia.

And she once again invoked Concentration.

We made the pseudo-playing cards and it was completed the next day after waiting for it to dry completely.

We made the pseudo-playing cards and I couldn’t help feeling excited.

「Let’s apply a clear protective liquid over it. The ink might fade as we’re playing with it. It’s something that Gilbert-sama made for the first time. We have to keep it for a long time.」

She asked this.

「Let’s add the Orto Family crest to the back. If it’s plain, then it feels like it’s missing something and it wouldn’t be pretty.」

And this.

「As expected, we should make one more set to keep.」

「Won’t you give a set to Master and Madam as a present?」

「Won’t Gilbert-sama make a case as well? It’s alright, they’re blocks of wood from a Puppet, so it can be processed using mana.」

… It’s not done yet! When can we play!?

「Gilbert-sama.」

「Yeees.」

「Do your best. The last thing that we need to do is to clean up.」

「Got it.」

The mana and concentration of a 4-year-old child’s body will soon reach its limit. I made some every day, and although I completed the first set in one day, four additional sets were created as instructed by Cynthia.

It took about a week to finish everything. 

Maa, we spent more than half the time waiting for them to dry. 

Let’s play to the fullest! As I was thinking that, Cynthia insisted that we should show it to Otou-san and Okaa-san first.

「Otou-san, Okaa-san, let’s play.」

「Gil, huh, yes, what do you want to play?」

Maa, Gil-chan, come. You’re cute today too.」

「We did it this morning too though?」

Still, I went in for a hug. I loved Okaa-san. 

Cynthia said that it was something that I made using magic, so it couldn’t be shown to Redrick and Maori, so this was when Maori was not here. Furthermore, she was aiming for the time when Otou-san was here as well. 

She was surprisingly well prepared. 

「This!」

I only had the white star cards left and I took them from the case.

「I wonder what this is? It has our family crest on it.」

「Aah, it’s the toy that you were talking about, huh.」

Otou-san scolded me, so he knew. 

「Cynthia, come over.」

「Yes.」

I just taught Cynthia how to shuffle the cards.

Otou-san and the others didn’t want to listen when I said that I should teach them how to play first.

And they were reluctant to shuffle. 

These cards were beautiful when they were all in order. 

We couldn’t use them like this, so I strongly recommended that she learn and she did. She shuffled so quickly that we couldn’t see anything. 

「Distribute it into four piles, making sure that we can’t see the other side. Ah, divide them up one by one.」

I could do it too, but they often flew out of my hands. My child’s body was not suited for shuffling. 

「Each person chooses a pile.」

「Um, am I playing too? This is just for the family….」

「Cynthia made it together with me, so it’s fine!」

「However, today is, that.」

Cynthia glanced at Otou-san.

「A game that Gil came up with, I’m looking forward to it.」

「Aah. Cynthia, join us as well. Come on, take a seat on the sofa.」

Otou-san nodded in agreement, so Cynthia gave up and sat down. 

She had a complicated look on her face though?

「If you have cards with the same numbers in your hand, then take them out. Like this.」

I put down two water and two fire cards that had been distributed to me. 

「Like this, huh.」

「Is this alright?」

「Ah, you can’t let others see your cards! You can’t tell others either!」

Fumu.」

「I wonder if this is a game?」

The cards in hand of the four people gradually decreased.

「First, I will get one card from Okaa-san and add it to my hand. If there is a card with the same number in my hand, then I would discard them. If the numbers don’t match, keep that card in your hand.」

「Aah.」

「Got it.」

「I understand.」

I then discarded the two number 8 cards in my hand. 

「After I take a card, then it would be Okaa-san’s turn to get one from Otou-san.」

「Like this, huh, I got a pair.」

「Then, can I take one from Cynthia?」

「Un!」

They were quick to understand. Maa, it wasn’t that difficult, so as adults, they would figure it out quickly. 

「Then I will take from Gilbert-sama.」

「Right. Go ahead.」

「Thank you.」

Cynthia took a card from me and it seems that she did not get a pair as it stayed in her hand. 

「This will continue in this order, and the first person to run out of cards wins, and the person who holds the black star card until the end loses.」

「I see.」

「I understand.」

「! G, got it.」

Ah, Otou-san had the joker. 

Okaa-san saw Otou-san’s reaction as well and squinted. 

Cynthia looked somewhat relaxed.

「It seems that everyone understands the rules. 」

The bloody feud involving the family + Cynthia had now begun. 

Previous | TOC | Next

2 thoughts on “Chapter 20-The fierce fight with my family

Leave a comment