AS Chapter 214~Akira’s Group 2~ Amelia Rose Quartz POV

Happy Monday!

Here’s the chapter, enjoy.


Splitting up with Akira and the others, I headed to the back together with Ria to keep guard. Kurou also went with us up until the middle, but around the middle of the ship, he unsteadily went somewhere. 

It is said that the aging of the beastmen would suddenly occur all in one go. Truly, he probably already didn’t have much longer. 

My race, which was high elf, had quite the longevity even among those in this world, and I myself lived longer compared to those of other races. My outward appearance was not much different from that of Akira’s, but that too was just for now. If one got involved with races other than the elves, then one would inevitably feel the differences themselves. 

It was rare even within the elven territory, but I had caught sight of humans and beastmen. It was for all sorts of trading and selling, but when I suddenly realized it, they had been replaced by someone else. I’d also heard people talking about seeing off their acquaintance’s children and grandchildren. I myself had also lost a few people. I felt a little depressed when thinking that I had to send off another familiar face again.

Walking a little, we arrived at the back part of the ship. It was much more spacious that the front, and though there was enough space to fight in, my『Gravitational Magic』was magic that added weight to the target. It would be good if they fell into the sea, but if I mistakenly dropped them onto the ship, they might take this ship with it. I needed to operate it carefully.

The range of Akira’s reconnaissance-type skill approximately covered the ship. Though, if a monster appeared in the front and then attacked the back, it would be difficult even for Akira, who would fight while searching for the enemy, so just in case, we had to stay vigilant here as well. If the area around the back was enclosed with Ria’s barrier, then I might be able to use『Gravitational Magic』to my heart’s content.

As I was carefully pondering over this, the words that Ria muttered reverberated loudly in this quiet area where it was just us. 

「I am laughable, aren’t I. Even though I had always known that Kurou-samadid not have much time left….」

Ria gripped her staff tightly and hung her head, looking extremely sad. Ria’s liveliness from when she was in Uruk had quietened down around the time we entered the “Forest of Death”. In Uruk, Ria’s facial expressions were constantly changing, in a good way, which was interesting. 

「Yes. This was something that you’ve always known. Because of that, it wouldn’t have been strange for Kurou’s life to have ended before you were born. Right now, being able to talk to Kurou is a blessing.」

Even though they were both beastmen, there was a difference of more than 100 years between Ria and Kurou’s ages. If the lifespan of beastmen were thought to be about 100 years, and even though Noa drinking the longevity medicine when Kurou was a fetus had an effect on him, Kurou had lived a long life, even when compared to the elves.

In the sky, I didn’t know just how fast we were going, but the beastmen territory that we could still see just a while ago was no longer visible. There was just the vast blue sky, and the blue sea. There were no Wyverns nor other monsters, so there was this strange feeling that I was the only person in the world. 

I was definitely the first in the world among the elves who lived in the forest to be surrounded by this much blue. 

「Is Amelia-sama not afraid? Akira-sama is a human. He would definitely reach the end of his life before Amelia-sama….」

Before Ria finished her words, I shut her up with a glance. 

I looked at Ria, who kept silent while her entire body was shaking, and unconsciously gave a sigh. 

「You and I are different. I, don’t want to be separated from Akira. I would do anything to make that happen. If Akira accepted his own death, then I would die too.」

If I could be together with Akira, I wouldn’t mind crossing over to another world. To say nothing of death. 

There was Kirika to be the next queen of the elves, so even if I wasn’t there, the royal family of the elves would be fine. 

Maa, I would use『Resurrection Magic』or something, as I wasn’t going to let him die, and we didn’t plan on dying now.

I was aware that the gaze that I had fixed onto Ria was cold. 

「I, it seems that I had completely misunderstood. I thought that Ria had quit being a princess in order to stay with Kurou until his last moments.」

Your resolution was just that much? 

You came this far together without even the determination to die together with the person that you like, the person that you love?

How long were you going to keep hesitating for?

When I said all that in one breath, large drops of tears spilled down Ria’s face. 

「I, I cannot bear the thought of  Kurou-sama dying! I want Kurou-sama to be happy! I want him to eat delicious food, do the things that he likes, and live every day in contentment!」

「But, that is not what Kurou himself wants. In addition, even Kurou can’t do anything about his lifespan.」

Before Kurou had proposed it to Akira as the terms for exchange, he had wanted to kill Gram. He was unable to do it himself, so he requested it of Akira.

But after Gram died, Kurou regretted making Akira kill someone. 

In contrast to Kurou, Akira did not think much of it. In his heart, he continued to feel repentance towards Akira. He himself was convinced that he should be punished. 

Actually, these two people are troublesome. To the point where I wanted to throw these two, Kurou and Ria, off this ship, but I couldn’t do that, and if this continued, they would definitely be a nuisance to Akira. 

「I think you guys do not communicate enough. Did you tell Kurou that you wanted him to live happily? Did you express your honest feelings to Kurou? Did you tell him that you like, love him?」

「N, no. I did not tell him. But….」

Both Kurou and Ria, truly do not communicate enough. 

They were about to make the same mistake as the one that Kirika, Otou-sama, and I had made previously. 

「In any case, right now, think about what you want to say to Kurou. And go express it on our next break time. Since I’ll create an opportunity for you to do so. If you don’t, you would definitely regret it. …remember this. Kurou being alive right now in itself is a miracle. Since it wouldn’t be strange for him to turn cold tomorrow.」

I looked at Ria’s face that had turned pale as if she had received a shock, and unconsciously kept silent. 

I might have said too much. But this kind of meddling, I would only do it for Ria. For me, Ria was special to me in a way that was different from Akira and Yoru.

Since a long time ago, I’ve always longed to have a “friend” relationship with others. Before I had the status of being the daughter of the king of the elven territory, I couldn’t be “friends” with others even though we were all elves. I yearned for it, but at the same time, I had given up. But, I met Akira and Yoru, Ria, Latisneil, and Amaryllis, and even though we hadn’t said it out loud, I definitely felt that we were “friends”. 

Akira and Yoru were important to me, but so was Ria. I didn’t want her to regret it. 

「Sorry, I said too much. But, I don’t think I said anything wrong. You two should talk with each other.」

I apologized, while peeping at Ria’s face. 

After Ria thought about it for a bit, she roughly wiped her face, and then slapped both sides of her face with her hands. 

「Thank you very much, Amelia-sama. Thanks to you, I have come to my senses. …that’s right. It is a miracle for Kurou-sama to still be alive. Because of this, I would like to cherish the time that we have. No, I will cherish it. No matter what!」

That look on Ria’s face had returned after I hadn’t seen it in a while. Ria’s tail was wagging in excitement. 

「Well then, Amelia-sama will think about it together with me, won’t you!? I want to reference it, so can Amelia-sama tell me about when you and Akira-sama fell in love and the scene of the confession?」

Looking at Ria, whose eyes were glittering and leaning her body forward, I started thinking that I had made a mistake. Why did girls like talking about love and things related to it? I couldn’t help thinking that I would probably have the same reaction when talking about other people’s affairs as well, regardless of my gender. I was happy to see that Ria had become lively, but this was outside my expectations. 

I looked up at the blue sky while thinking that it would be good if a Wyvern or something else would come to attack us so that I would not give in to Ria’s energetic pestering. 

Previous | TOC | Next

2 thoughts on “AS Chapter 214~Akira’s Group 2~ Amelia Rose Quartz POV

Leave a comment