AS Chapter 211~『Focus Point』~ Tsuda Tomoya POV

Happy Wednesday!

Here is the newest chapter. It has been a while, so if there is anything wrong, especially in terms of the references to previous chapter, I’d appreciate it if you let me know and I will, of course, fix them,

On another note, I had been considering dropping this series due to the fact that the author takes quite a long time to update one chapter and I don’t know how long it will take for this novel to be completed, but at the same time, I’m a bit reluctant to do so. I will think more on it and let you know my decision, but do let me know what you think.

Anyways, I hope you enjoy the chapter. 


When we were still receiving training from the people of the chivalric order, Zeal-san had taught me about the “knight” profession. Those who held the “knight” profession could be separated into three types. The first type had high attack power and specialized in offense. The second was not exceptional in neither offensive nor defensive power and was balanced. The last one had high defensive power and specialized in protection. No matter which type, all knights carried a sword and a shield regardless, but he said that it was an important role as the strategies of a party greatly differed depending on the type of knight. Incidentally, Zeal-san was the balanced type, and I specialized in defense. 

The type that specialized in defense could acquire special skills. Of course, the other two types could obtain the skills that were suitable for them. More importantly, that skill was the best skill to use in order to break through the current situation.  

I confirmed that Oda-kun had moved away from the bow to where I was, and I used that skill for the first time. 

「Specialized defensive skill『Focus Point』」

Sword raised towards the sky, I swung it down onto my shield that was larger than the ones that normal knights used. 

Metal collided against metal and a sound similar to a shrill scream resounded, and at that moment, the Wyverns all looked over towards me. Under their murderous intent that shouldn’t have been visible to the naked eye, I unconsiously took a step back. Asahina-kun and the others were always fighting under such circumstances, huh.

The effect of『Focus Point』was exactly as named, and was a skill where the target of the opponent would converge onto myself. The gazes, bloodthirst, and attacks that had been pointed towards my companions would all be turned towards me. 

「…Ria! Stack up all the barriers meant for us onto that guy!!」

Having guessed something, Oda-kun told Ria-san to affix all of their barriers onto me. In an instant, my barrier had several layers, and in the next second, the barrier that had originally been affixed on me shattered as a thunderous roar sounded. The five remaining Wyverns all retreated further away due to the impact from biting at me. Although they had been blocked by the additional barriers, their sharp teeth and their huge mouths that were big enough to swallow something like me whole seemed to be getting bigger and bigger.

「Tsuda-kun!!!」

I could see Satou-kun drawing his sword, and Asahina-kun pulling out his two swords from in between the large Wyverns. At the same time, the second barrier cracked.

「Twin Sword Style――『Lightning Speed』」

「『Shadow Magic』――activate」

「Holy Sword――『Light Sword』!!!」

A loud sound similar to something being stuck by lightning reverberated nearby. The Wyverns’ heads flew off in a beautiful trajectory after being decapitated, were eaten up by a black shadow, and engulfed in a ray of light.

After a moment of silence, the second barrier that was barely holding on shattered as if it were glass. Without exception, the Wyverns that were biting at me all disappeared. 

「What were you thinking! Do you want to die!?」

Confirming that all the Wyverns had died, Satou-kun, after giving a sigh of relief, grabbed my shoulders and shook me. The atmosphere was the same as the time when we were angry at Hosoyama-san for recklessly using『Gluttony』during the battle with the whale monster in the forest. Though this time, they were angry at me.

「I, I’m sorry. Asahina-kun, Oda-kun, and Ria-san too, thank you very much.」

Certainly, I knew I was wrong, so I apologized obediently. If it weren’t for Oda-kun’s quick-wittedness and Ria-san’s barriers, I would probably be in the Wyverns’ stomachs at this time. 

Even though it was the first time I’ve used the skill myself, I knew about its effect, so I should’ve told them about it, even if it was just saying a few words.

「…well, thanks to you, we survived. Next time, it would be great if you told us about it beforehand.」

Although his facial expressions did not change much, Oda-kun waved his hand as if he was relieved. Asahina-kun too quickly checked to make sure that I wasn’t injured and nodded.

At Oda-kun’s words, Satou-kun let go of my shoulders as well.

『It’s just as Master-dono said. Don’t you know the word ‘report’.』

Using『Metamorphosis』to change from a dragon to his usual appearance of a black cat, Yoru-san was nagging. Ever since that day when Yoru-san lashed out at me, he would occasionally talk to me, perhaps because he took a liking to me. Maa, though half of it was about Oda-kun and Amelia-san and the other half was preaching. 

「I don’t plan on giving excuses, but at that time, I could only think of this. It was the first time I’ve used this skill, so I didn’t know how it would turn out either. Satou-kun too, I’m sorry for worrying you.」

Everyone else was angry with me as well, and I reflected on it. When Hosoyama-san made a blunder, we were anxious to the point of our hearts jumping out of our mouths, but I didn’t think that I was the next one to make a mistake.

「There’s no need to nag like that. This is the battlefield. Everyone should be prepared for the worst-case scenario.」

Noa-san said this, amazed at us for being naïve. 

That’s right. The battles up until now, we barely won them. I’ve thought about it many times before, but from now on out, people will really die. 

「But, it would be best if no one died. If someone was missing, it would affect morale.」

Kurou-san muttered this as if to pacify us, and Noa-san, perhaps agreeing with him, didn’t say anything.

Previous | TOC | Next

13 thoughts on “AS Chapter 211~『Focus Point』~ Tsuda Tomoya POV

  1. Hello and I’d prefer you kept translating it. But releastically it’s not worthwhile. But you could drop it temporarily until the author picks up again

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for you opinion. That was what I was kind of considering as well. Currently, there are three new chapters that the author had posted, but I am waiting to see if there is a regular schedule to the releases or not.

      Like

  2. Thank you for the chapter, Yukinarisan.
    For me, i would like you to keep translating this novel. But if you do decide to drop it, I will respect your decision, Your time is the most important thing, and it has been a great journey with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. For me you can drop this novel. I really like it but if we must wait months for 1 chapter of few line i will probably forget what this story is even about.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just drop it until the author decides to release consistently…or releases enough chapters that it’s worth doing regular releases again.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Well I’d love to see more chapters should they come but man it’s too inconsistent. You can drop if you like, don’t want to waste your time. I’m 50/50 on this one, I like this Novel which is rare for me

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I appreciate you letting me know your thoughts. Of course, I really like the novel and I know others do as well, which is why I’m reluctant, but at the same time, the inconsistent updates are quite annoying, to say the least. Anyways, I will let you guys know once I come to a decision. But as always, thank you for reading.

      Like

Leave a comment