AS Chapter 189~Private Talk~ Noa POV

Happy Monday!

Here’s the chapter, enjoy.


「…do you have some business with me.」

After that, almost everyone finished their meals in silence, and in the end, I didn’t even get the chance to talk with my son and looking for a place to be alone, I headed towards the back of the building.

The number of people having increased these several days, it made me long for quietness.

The hero and the others wouldn’t approach this place of nightmares, so I thought that it would be the best place to be by myself and think, but unfortunately, there was a previous engagement today.

It was the girl who was implicated as “being doubtful of the person she trusts most” by my barrier’s illusory magic that was stronger than the one that was cast on the heroes.

From what I had seen, this girl trusted my son the most. 

It was obvious that her behavior was only strange towards my son.

I don’t know what was so good about him, but maa, in the eye of others, he was reliable.

Seeing that I came to the back of the building, that girl looked as if she expected me to have done so.

My son’s acquaintances that I knew of was just Zeal boy.

I did not know this girl until I saw her in the forest.

「Pleased to meet you. I am the former princess of Uruk. I am called Ria.」

With her blue eyes firmly looking at me, the respectful bow that she performed was certainly one that was characteristic of the royal family.

She was in no way living longer than her natural lifespan like my son.

Even so, she gave me the impression that her heart was steadier than my son’s.

Was it because she was a princess, though a former one?

No, rather than that, I frowned when I heard that name.

Come to think of it, if I’m not mistaken, when I first saw this girl at that time, my son had also called her by that name.

I didn’t hold any feelings towards that name at that time, but now I did.

「…you are, called Ria?」

「Yes, Kurou-sama had given me that name.」

My eyes widened when she gave me that answer.

That name was an extremely common one, but for our family, it was an important name.

It can’t be, I muttered this.

「That child gave you that name?」

「Y, yes. Is there something wrong?」

Ria tilted her head, perplexed, when I asked her to ascertain it.

I shook my head.

Seeing her reaction, I knew that she was unaware the meaning that that name held for our family.

My son that I knew, no matter how much honor or money he had, wouldn’t give a child the name “Ria” that reminded him of that name.

Was there something special about this child.

Be that as it may, it seems like he would be increasingly more rebellious if I told her that that child didn’t tell her the meaning of that name.

I couldn’t make small talk that held no purpose even at the best of times, so it wouldn’t be a good idea to talk to her right now.

「No, nothing. I didn’t think that son of mine would give such a good name.」

「Yes. I too like this name.」

Unconsciously, I smiled when I heard those sincere words.

Aah, did that child think that as well.

「…why don’t we go back to talking. You seemed like you’ve been wanting to talk to me since a while ago, but do you have some business with me?」

That child was named “Ria”, so she was like my grandchild, so to speak.

It couldn’t be helped that I had become much gentler with her than before.

Right now, I felt as if I would say things that I normally wouldn’t.

「Yes. there are many things that I would like to ask you, but what I want to say, what I want to ask Noa-sama are the matters regarding Kurou-sama.」

Maa, of course that was it, I nodded.

Just judging from her words and behavior today, I could tell that my son was this child’s world.

She would observe my son’s actions and prepare various things in advance, and when it was time to eat, she would take the initiative to get my son’s portion as well.

Perhaps the youngster in black and the others were accustomed to it, or perhaps it was clear to them that things were like this, as they had no reaction towards it as if it was a frequent occurrence, but when I first saw that, I naturally thought that it was strange.

Moreover, my son had accepted it as if it was natural.

Was it my imagination that, it seemed as if the one giving and the one receiving were both steadily getting rid of the obstacles in the way of them doing what they wanted. 

「This may be impolite, but what does Noa-sama think of Kurou-sama’s younger sister, your daughter? Do you think that it would be best to let the memories fade and forget?」

「No, that shouldn’t happen.」

Unconsciously, I gave an immediate reply.

Her question was, the very emotions I would never lose as long I was myself.

「Because you have never given birth to a child before, you would not understand that feeling, but even if the child born from your own womb was a murderer, even if they’re planning world domination, they are my beloved. Even if they died before me, the parent, that would not change. That child, was my beloved daughter.」

Ria smiled, when I declared so.

「Then, what about Kurou-sama? If your daughter and Kurou-sama’s situations were different, would you forget about Kurou-sama?」

「That would be absolutely impossible.」

Before I knew it, I had answered with this.

Even if, I didn’t want to answer so straightforwardly deep down, only this could not be compromised. 

No, this was, something I was instinctually honest about as a mother.

「Even now, I love those children, my son and daughter. Even if the situation was different, that wouldn’t change. My son, and my daughter, are my and that person’s beloved children.」

No matter how harsh my words were, my heart would not change. 

My children, I love my son and daughter, that’s it.

To begin with, that person passed away, and in this world where my daughter died, the only thing that troubled me was my son properly living until the end of his natural lifespan.

Ria breathed out when she heard my answer.

「You may wonder what an outsider like me is talking about, but there is an overwhelming need for you parent and child to communicate with each other. From the time when he met Noa-sama to when we arrived here, there was a time when Kurou-sama had become a good-for-nothing.」

She said this, as if complaining.

It seems that Ria had been stressed.

According to what she said, he didn’t notice a monster coming from behind him, and was protected by his disciple. 

She also talked about how he couldn’t even use the magic stones to cast the lifestyle magic『Ignite』even after an hour had passed by. 

I couldn’t bear to continue listening, so I stopped her there.

I did not think that he would be this useless after meeting me.

Or rather, he received a disciple this late in the game?

「Kurou-sama said this. ‘Even though it was the first time I’ve seen the old lady since leaving the house with my younger sister, she didn’t ask about my sister’. Judging from the fact that you are acquainted with Zeal-sama, Noa-sama had been concerned about Kurou-sama, were you not?」

Certainly, her reasoning was crude, but Ria had hit the nail on the head.

However, I always had bad timing.

If I keep an eye on my daughter, my son would’ve died in the demon king’s castle, and if I maintained a close watch on my free-spirited son, my daughter would die.

「I, who do not die, have lots of spare time. Something that I enjoyed doing, there was only one thing, and that was to observe the lives of my children who inherited my blood.」

No matter what I thought in my heart, I, a human, always spoke using such harsh words. 

Even when there was only Ria here, I could not honestly express what I wanted to say to my son.

Ria, who shouldn’t have known that, shook her head as if it couldn’t be helped like she was dealing with a junior. 

In any case, it’s not as if Kurou-sama was here, she was probably thinking that,

It was none of her business. 

However, it was not in my nature to keep being told that. 

Let’s get a little revenge. 

I grinned and said this.

「By the way, do you love him?」

「L, love!? That is not the case! A young girl like me is not someone he would fall in love with!」

Shouting words that were completely unpersuasive with a bright red face, Ria ran away like a startled rabbit.

It was truly a reaction that was a result of teasing. 

I had wanted to tease her more, but maa, it’s fine.

I moved my legs to head towards the building.

I felt somewhat better after talking to her.

If it’s that girl, she would probably firmly take hold of the reins.

Not noticing the tail that was the same color as my own hair sticking out from the shadow of a tree, I returned to my own room.

Previous | TOC | Next

13 thoughts on “AS Chapter 189~Private Talk~ Noa POV

  1. Thanks for the chapter desu~

    [Not noticing the tail that was the same color as my own hair sticking out from the shadow of a tree, I returned to my own room.]

    Oh, she definitely noticed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment