Chapter 11-Unsure of how to gain experience points

Happy Monday!

Here’s the chapter, enjoy.


For several days, Okaa-san was clinging onto me, but it seems that there was a new countermeasure against the Kobolds, so the days when she had to go outside increased. 

In noble families, there was a puzzling custom where the children were kept at home until their debut, so I could only go as far as the front door, as usual.

And Otou-san and Okaa-san were dealing with the said Kobolds and dungeon, and the days when they were not at home increased. 

All the servants became busy due to that and there were many times when I went to the tutorial dungeon secretly, and so, a little less than a month passed. There had been some changes during that time. 

「Eh, I can’t absorb it.」

Among the elemental crystals, there were several that I could not absorb. 

「Wind and earth, though light is fine.」

Was there something like a limit to how much you could absorb? Although not all the elemental crystals, there were some remaining and they could not be absorbed. 

「I wonder why?」

But because of that, the magic could be freely invoked. 

Using magic for detecting people, I searched for the locations of the others and confirmed the safety, and with the space magic 『Gate』, I could now go directly to the room with the altar from my room, so I wouldn’t run into others in the hallway. 

Even in the tutorial dungeon, it was not possible to create a gate near the altar. Assuming that you couldn’t open a gate in a dungeon, then perhaps the altar was also a dungeon.

「There is a remarkable increase in the number of magic as well.」

Also, it’s a big deal to be able to handle different types of magic. I also did well to raise the level of my occupation and for basic magic, I could invoke them without consuming too much MP, and I could sense that the MP that was consumed would be recovered immediately. 

I defeated a lot of Slim Spores, but these guys didn’t give any experience points, so the fly in the ointment was that my physical abilities remained unchanged, but not only was I unable to leave the house, I could not defeat anything else except for the Slim Spores. 

It would be great if I could use that dungeon where Kobolds appear, but right now, that would be impossible. After all was said and done, I was a four year old child. 

Not only did I not know when the story of this world of a sequel would begin, right now, even if it was just a little bit, I wanted experience points. 

「Even for the stats of my occupation, I wonder if it could be more efficient.」

I wanted to come up with magic that could continuously damage the Slim Spores. 

The HP of the Slim Spores was low. No matter what magic I used, I would be able to defeat them in one attack and a four year old child like me could kill them with a few stabs of a knife. 

「Then you don’t need strength. The Slim Spores are summoned from the magic circle that’s behind the lattice every time that they are defeated, and then they move forward and stop here.」

The path that they took and the place where they stopped was always the same. And once it stopped, it would just twist around and do nothing. It wouldn’t attack either and even if you attacked it, they wouldn’t fight back. 

When I used wind magic to blow them away, I saw that they tried to return to their original location from where they had been blown off from. Maa, they used up all their strength in the middle and died though.

「Magic that’s like a trap and it doesn’t have to be strong, but it would be best for it to be magic that lasts for a long time.」

Even in the game, there were terrains that were like traps. Such as desert, poison, and lava. 

「For continuous damage, then it has to be fire.」

I imagined fire rising up from the ground. The place where the Slim Spores were, in terms of the range, it’s enough for the area to be less than one tatami mat. 

TN: tatami is often used as a unit of measure, which is either 1.82 or 1.54 sqm, often used to describe how spacious something is. Tatami mats are Japanese straw floor coverings.

「Flame Carpet」

I put my hand on the ground and created the magic that I had imagined in my head.

It was a mat of fire that was constantly rising up from the ground.

It was fire magic, so it went without saying that it would be dangerous if it got too big. That’s why, if it enclosed the area where the two Slim Spores stopped at, then that would be sufficient.

It was not necessary for it to have strong firepower. At a certain point, the flames would be strong enough to cause burns just by being nearby. There was also no meaning in producing white and blue flames that had high temperatures. 

「Now then, how will it go?」

The Slim Spores stepped into the new magic that I had created that consumed nearly half of my MP.

And the Slim Spores were defeated and had disappeared when they didn’t even have half their bodies in the Flame Carpet.

「It’s a success, maybe?」

That magic that focused on longevity rather than strength did not show signs of weakening even after it engulfed the Slim Spores.

I watched it intently for a while, but it didn’t seem like it would die down.

「It was a success. With this, I would be able to practice other magic.」

Once invoked, Flame Carpet would continue to remain in place and there was no need to supplement MP to continue to maintain it. 

Leaving the Flame Carpet to take care of the Slim Spores, I practiced magic that were of different attributes and was able to focus on creating new magic. 

「What would happen if I left the dungeon?」

The Flame Carpet would probably not disappear until the effect duration was over. What I was concerned about was, the experience points for my occupation that I was supposed to get. 

Was it because, you wouldn’t be able to obtain any experience points for your occupation if you weren’t nearby when defeating monsters? Could you get them even when you’re far away?

This was the tutorial dungeon. Could you raise the level of your occupation if you defeated monsters by setting traps in the dungeon?

「The game was a command battle-type, so there was no such thing as inattentively defeating the enemies.」

I only needed to test out the things that I don’t understand.

I left the dungeon by stepping into the magic circle that would take me outside and with the Gate magic, I returned to my own room.

Previous | TOC | Next

2 thoughts on “Chapter 11-Unsure of how to gain experience points

Leave a comment