Chapter 9-First time seeing my parents argue

Happy Monday!

Here’s the chapter, enjoy.


Cynthia returned.

Together with Otou-san and the others.

「Welcome back.」

「Aah.」

「We’re back. Were you alright by yourself?」

「Un! Otou-san and Okaa-san too, did you get hurt?」

「Of course we are fine.」

Okaa-san held me in her arms as she replied. When I looked at Otou-san, he also nodded.

「The monsters, what kind were they?」

「They’re called Kobolds, bi-pedal dog monsters.」

「Those ones, huh.」

In the first town of the game, in other words, around this area, they were originally small fries that you encountered. They were opponents that Eugene and the others, who had yet to obtain their occupations, had won against. For someone who had already obtained their final occupation, small fries were still small fries,

Even if someone like Otou-san just stood there and let himself be surrounded, he probably wouldn’t receive any damage, right?

「You know about them?」

「Um, from a book. It said that they weren’t strong.」

Fumu, that information is not correct.」

Kobolds, were they strong!?

My eyes widened in surprise and when Otou-san saw that, he laughed. 

「Of course, compared to Millenia and I, they are quite weak. However, they have sharp claws and fangs that’s unique to beasts, and they are monsters that attack one person in groups of three or four. They’re by no means weak at all.」

「Is that so.」

「To the citizens who don’t have an occupation, especially children like you, they are strong. They are monsters, remember that.」

「Is that so…that is true.」

I, who was currently a child, should not be saying that the Kobolds, whose bodies were bigger than me, were weak. Unconsciously, my hand that was holding onto my mother tightened. 

「Dear?」

「Ah-, it’s nothing. Even so, we already defeated them, so it’s no problem.」

「Really? You took down a lot?」

「That’s right. We took down every one of them as far as the eye could see, but there are probably still some around the area.」

「That’s true, if they multiplied that quickly, then  there would definitely be some that you missed. It would probably be difficult if you  did not deploy the adventurers or the knights.」

「Regarding the Kobold matter, Gilbert-sama has something to report to Master.」

Nn? Me?

「Cynthia?」

「Gilbert-sama should be the one to report it. Please take this.」

Cynthia placed the book that I gave her onto the table. 

「I will supplement anything that was left out. In addition, Gilbert-sama should be able to do it.」

Cynthia looked unruffled. 

I signaled Okaa-san and she put me down. And then I crossed over to the other side of the table and sat down on the sofa.

When I looked at Otou-san and Okaa-san, who were looking at the book places on the table, and then they turned to look back at me. 

It seems that both of them wanted to hear me speak. 

「Um, I found the book in the basement library.」

Without knowing why, I did as Cynthia told me to do. 

「A dungeon, huh. In this kind of place.」

「It’s pretty deep in the forest. Also, the Kobold nest this time is close to the forest.」

Did they understand what I was trying to say? Cynthia, who added on to what I said, started speaking after I finished. 

「I just asked the doctor Remura-san. It seems that she knew about that village and the dungeon.」

「Remura? Then there’s no mistake about it.」

「Before the hero Eugene appeared, the invasion of the demon king had begun and it seems that the village and the dungeon had been abandoned when the world was in upheaval.」

「Abandoned? She didn’t say that they left it, but that they had abandoned it, huh?」

It certainly was a strange way of putting it. 

「Because of the demon king, the attack of the demons and the monsters intensified with each day and it seems that military strength became necessary. And so, the adventurers, who exclusively dove into the dungeons of various places, were enlisted into the front lines and it seems that the number of people going into the dungeons decreased. According to Remura-san, at that time, magic tools were rarely used and magic stones were only seen to be the materials of alchemists, so even if they allowed them to go to the dungeons, the preparations for the war against the demon king was more important.」

「Aah, was the development and popularization of magic tools after the war with the demon king?」

Otou-san listened to the results of Cynthia’s inquiry and nodded. 

「If the number of adventurers going into dungeons decreased, then there was a possibility that the monsters inside would overflow. It seems that the lord at the time had sealed the entrance to the dungeon. When the forest village that was established for the intention of controlling the dungeon lost the material benefits from it, it would not be able to sustain itself, and it seems that it became a deserted village when it was sealed. It seems that she had heard that the barrier stones had been removed and collected.」

「If the village mainly relied on the revenue brought by the materials within the dungeon, then certainly, they would be unable to maintain themselves.」

「That’s true. In addition, if the adventurers who were able to challenge the dungeon were gone, then it would be dangerous for the village in the forest. Even I would abandon the village.」

「That was exactly what happened, according to what Remura-san said.」

I see.

「Eh? Then, the Kobolds that Otou-san and the others fought against, did they come out from the dungeon?」

「Considering the location of the nest, there’s a high possibility. It was originally an area where Kobolds were frequently sighted, but there was an abnormal amount of nests.」

Maa, other than the Kobolds, there are Red Wolves and even Golems in the dungeon as well.」

「The seal to the dungeon loosened and the Kobolds gradually overflowed from it. And, they will form a pack and eventually, start to come out of the forest…though I want to say that the Kobolds themselves are not a problem.」

「It’s unclear how many of them there are and if there is a possibility that there would be more coming out of the dungeon, then we would need to have the appropriate combat strength.」

「…should I call those guys in the clan?」

「Dear, that’s!」

Okaa-san stood up.

「You can’t! We can depend on them for their strength, but what will we do for the remuneration!?」

「We can’t leave the dungeon in the territory as it is.」

「We’re talking about Gil’s future!」

Eh? What?

「However, if this continues, it will not be good for the people of the territory. We won’t be able to cover this vast forest by ourselves.」

「There’s a possibility that this would cut off this child’s future, you know!?」

「Okaa-san?」

Surprised by Okaa-san who suddenly raised her voice, I unconsciously called out to her. 

「We should deal with it by reporting it to the kingdom!」

「However, what are you going to do if they said that you don’t have the means to manage it. Worst comes to worst, we could be deprived of this land.」

「In that case, it would be fine if we returned to the royal capital! Between Gil’s future and this land, which is more important!」

「If we send a request to the kingdom, then we wouldn’t know when they would deal with it. Gil is important as well, but during this time, it is the people who would be in danger. As the lord, I want to do what I can.」

「Are you saying to weigh the merits of Gil and the people?」

「Gil will not be in danger. However, the lives of the people are in peril. I have taken up my post here for over ten years. This is already my home. I don’t want to make that kind of decision.」

Otou-san had a mournful look on his face.

「Hey, don’t fight, ok? Also, what do you mean by my future?」

「Gil, you don’t have to worry, alright? I will protect you.」

「Gil, we are not fighting. That’s why…go back to your room.」

Did this mean that this was not something a child should listen to? Then, I would like it if you didn’t start talking about it in front of that child.

Cynthia pulled me, who was a little annoyed, out of the room. 

What’s with that, my future, they said.

Previous | TOC | Next

2 thoughts on “Chapter 9-First time seeing my parents argue

Leave a comment